North Africa (Maghreb)

The Missionaries of Africa were founded in North Africa and based their habit on the ordinary dress of the local people. Most formation and studies were conducted in North Africa until Algerian and Tunisian Independence. The North African Province now consists of 2 countries, Algeria and Tunisia. The Provincial resides in Algiers. In the past there have been individual Missionaries of Africa in Libya and Morocco but no longer.

1. Algerian Sector - 5 communities and a confrere working alone

2 communities are in Algiers and 1 in Tizi-Ouzou.
In all 3 communities the confreres have their own apostolates. One community looks after the Basilica of Our Lady of Africa.
In Laghouat Diocese there are 2 parishes Ghardaia (where the bishop resides) and Ouargla. All confreres have their own apostolate.
There is 1 Algerian confrere. He works outside Algeria.

2. Tunisian Sector – 3 communities

There is 1 confrere in La Marsa.
There is a parish community in Sfax.
There is a community in IBLA (Institut des Belles Lettres Arabes - a library and place for students to study) in Tunis.
There is another community in Morjania.